Saving Net Neutrality…Hello Again Readers

 

So I haven’t been posting for a while now, mainly because I am way too busy being a corporate sellout adult with a real world job that sucks my soul away.

So let’s carry on like nothing ever happened and pretend we aren’t upset about the whole ordeal. Let’s talk about Net Neutrality a little bit. It sounds intellectual and stuff and whatever.

So I haven’t been paying attention to online issues lately, mainly because I struggle with the issue of skewed journalism, and am not entirely sure what is correct an incorrect information. All I know is one day as I scrolled through my newly opened Google+ account I ran into this little jewel.image

What has happened to my wonderful, free speech and equal opportunity internet?

Slowly (because of working a “part-time” job of 40 hrs a week mostly late into the night), I began to try to figure out what all this crap was about. Granted, most of the action happened in January of 2014, while I was still busy working post-holiday damage control in retail. But, I was just hearing about this now? Why? Was the internet turning against me already, trying to keep me from seeing what matters? Was I just being paranoid? Was I under a rock?

Probably all the above.

It doesn’t surprise me though. People online have been looking to make more and more money off the internet since it’s explosive popularity some 20+ years ago. It is not even a little surprising that it was under attack again, trying to limit the freedoms of its users and offer unequal opportunity to those with the deepest pockets. But what did that mean for me? What does that mean for the fate of the internet?

So what did I do upon coming out of my internet cave with the sun glaring in my eyes? I turned to savetheinternet.com.

For those of you just as confused about what all this Net Neutrality stuff is about, I found this site to be extremely helpful. One, because it really gets down to what this could mean negatively for the typical user. Secondly, it helps streamline the basics and keeps us up-to-date on what court rulings mean. For starters, I wanted to know what Net Neutrality actually described:

“Net Neutrality means an Internet that enables and protects free speech. It means that Internet service providers should provide us with open networks — and should not block or discriminate against any applications or content that ride over those networks. Just as your phone company cannot decide who you could call and what you say on that call, your ISP should not be concerned with what content you view or post online.”

So for avid (and lazy corporate sellout) bloggers like us (me), this can be a threatening issue. A threat to Net Neutrality could mean that Companies (specifically Internet Service Providers) can buy better internet accessibility and have sole control over that online traffic. They can choose who sees what. They can see what you see and keep track of it without any protection on your part. It threatens small online markets for building networks and clientele. It even can prevent minority communities from freely expressing cultural issues and building networks online.

Really it is a threat to freedom.

The truth is, we don’t know for sure what it could actually look like. The programs wouldn’t be made overnight, but that didn’t mean any change would happen gradually. It would take time to develop the servers and prep them for the segregation. That is what it would be after all. Online segregation. Just like the rest of American History, inequality was going to find another platform to present itself and rear it’s ugly head threateningly. Except, it would become a socioeconomic segregation. The well-off would win out against the not-so-well-off. A struggle that has been an issue in the United States for ages as well.

For more information on this issue and a better in-depth idea of how it might affect you, please visit savetheinternet.com and also feel free to sign the online petition provided by Etsy.com for protecting Net Neutrality and small online markets.

Leave a Reply

