Design Inspiration: Masters of Book Design

I don’t know about anyone else, but I often do judge books by their covers. Literally. It’s the story you encounter before the story ever begins. I’ve been notorious for buying attractive (I was going to say “sexy” but thought you may think I was taking it a bit too far) books regardless of their content. Why not right?

Anyway, book design is a large part of daily graphic design encounters. Speaking as an avid reader, I’d rather have my eyes rest on a beautiful design rather than an eyesore. Otherwise it’s like dragging nails across a chalkboard, but with your eyes….yeah…something like that.

Here is a list of sites to help inspire your inner book drunkard and designer.

Master Book Designers

Salamander Hill Design

Peter Mendelsund

Chip Kidd

John Gall

Henry Sene Yee

Tobias Design

3 responses to “Design Inspiration: Masters of Book Design

Leave a Reply

